YA Book Bingo |A Book With A Female Heroine| Cruel Beauty

by Rosamund Hodge

Rating: 4.5/5

Here’s what Goodreads has to say:

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him […] As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

Essentially it’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, mixed in with Greek/Roman Mythology. I think that was one of the biggest reasons why I enjoyed the book as much as I did. The writing was detailed and the world built through them was impressive. The characters individually were layered and interesting but put all together they weren’t convincing. OH and my absolute favorite part was Ignifex’s house.

All the things I didn’t like about this book were the things I hate about all young adult literature. (The Love Triangle [if it can be called so] and Nyx’s affection for whichever one happened to be in the room.) I also kind of hated how every time her and Ignifex would be together she’d hate him but then kiss him for three pages and then break it off by saying how much she hated him. It got really repetitive…

The ending was definitely a plot twist but I’m still not sure how I feel about it. It was a weird way to “resolve” the love triangle and I’d prefer not to really think about it…

I also expected it to be more violent, with demons involved but it was more darkly fairy tale than anything else.

One thought on “YA Book Bingo |A Book With A Female Heroine| Cruel Beauty

  1. I heard about this online recently then saw you read it so I had to ask for a review, so thanks! Going to add this to my to read list now.

    Love these fairy tale twists! Hope I don’t get tired of them too soon😛

Leave a Reply

