YA Book Bingo |A Book With A Break Up| Why We Broke Up

by Daniel Handler and illustrated by Maira Kalman

I’m pretty proud of finding such a sophisticated high school story. Of course most high school YA novels are all about relationships and this book is no exception whatsoever. From Goodreads:

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up […] Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

It is exceptional in the brilliant way it is told, with vivid pictures and dramatic language that makes me positively angry. I WISH I COULD WRITE LIKE DANIEL HANDLER! His writing is poetic, hooking, and I just can’t stop thinking about it. Sure it’s kind of pretentious, with thoughts flowing all around, loud and breathtaking, a thing of beauty, a stream of consciousness unbroken and overwhelming. At some point when I was secretly reading it, in my bed, late at with my lamp behind my curtain so my parents couldn’t see that my lights were on, I felt such a connection to this book, a surge of emotion and I didn’t want this book to end, ever end, never end, and I held on to it as long as I could but eventually as all things do, it came to an end and now it is time to appreciate how marvelous and charming the book was though I can never do it justice even as I try.

Leave a Reply

