The Raven Boys

by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m not a big fan of the supernatural. (I tried to get into the show too but I don’t know. I just didn’t like it. But I still think it’s hilarious and painful from what I see on tumblr…)

The Raven Boys is part supernatural and part fantasy. It’s not that I didn’t like the plot exactly, but I just didn’t appreciate it as much as I would have if I was into supernatural stories. Against the odds, about 100 pages, into the story I was hooked. Yes, the story started out slow, but looking back, it was filled with tiny pieces that fit by the end of the story, making the plot twists really stunning. It was hard to get a grip on Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style but as the story progressed, I found myself enjoying it. Multiple times I found myself holding my breath until someone made a decision or cracking a grin at some snarky comment.

The story is about…actually I don’t want to ruin it because I feel like each character in this book is so intricate that giving anything away would be like robbing from the story. This book features some of the most real,  most complex human beings and I think that’s what kept me going. I needed to know what would happen to Adam (he’s so precious. Why are all literary Adams so precious??) and Ronan (I love him far too much) and Gansey (wow Gansey you are something) and Blue (another short heroine!) and just everyone. I think it’s a huge feat for an author to be able to do that in just one book…J.K Rowling had a few books to create the complexity of her characters, but I think that Maggie Stiefvater accomplished all that within a few chapters. It’s incredible. None of the characters fit a certain stereotype, though you’d expect them to. It’s so incredibly human.

The only complaint I have was the ending. I am aware there is going to be a sequel, but I sort of thought that everything would play out in this novel, but Maggie Stiefvater sort of eluded what was to happen, which I thought was kind of weak.

Anyway, besides that. Go read this novel, even if, like me, you’re not into the supernatural or fantasy. I just want you to experience the characters. I was quite blown away by them.

Oh and the book’s cover is amazing. It is possibly in one of my top ten favorite covers. (Yes, I judged this book by it’s cover. Therefore I was severely misguided as to what the book was about. I really thought they could turn into ravens or it would be about something like that.)

Rating: 4.2/5

Leave a Reply

